Doña Ana Community College announce President finalists

Monday, February 17, 2014 - 6:50pm

The Doña Ana Community College (DACC) announced the three finalists for president of the Community College on Monday morning. The finalists include (in alphabetical order):

  • Andrew J. Burke, current Interim President at DACC. He previously served as Vice President for Business and Finance at DACC. He attained a Bachelor of Business Administration with honors majoring in Finance & Managerial Accounting, and a Master of Accountancy degree from New Mexico State University. He is currently a Doctorate in Education Management candidate at NMSU.
  • Dr. Renay Scott, provost at Owens Community College in Toledo, Ohio. She previously served as the Dean for the School of Arts and Sciences at Owens Community College. Dr. Scott completed her Doctorate in Curriculum and Instruction from Wayne State University, her Master of Arts in Curriculum and Instruction from Michigan State University and her Bachelor of Arts in Social Studies Education from Calvin College.
  • Dr. Lydia Tena, Northwest Campus Dean at El Paso Community College. She previously served as the Achieving the Dream Coordinator and Leader College Liaison for El Paso Community College. She earned her Bachelor’s in Business Administration and a Master’s in Business Administration from the University of Texas at El Paso. She also has a Doctorate of Education in Educational Administration from New Mexico State University.

Dr. Bernadette Montoya, the presidential search chair thanked the DACC presidential search committee for their hard work and accomplishment to provide well qualified professionals for the position.  “The search committee did an excellent job of selecting these candidates,” Montoya said. “All candidates will have the opportunity to come to DACC, meet with the public, faculty, students, and staff.”

Montoya says there were 27 applicants for the position, and three were selected as finalists. The candidates will now visit DACC to meet with the public, faculty, staff and students March 5-7. The provost of NMSU will make the final decision by mid to late March.

DACC has five locations throughout Dona Ana County including Hatch, East Mesa, Central Campus, Mesquite Neighborhood Learning Center, Gadsden, and Chaparral. DACC is the fourth largest institution of post-secondary education in the State of New Mexico. Dr. Montoya also serves as the New Mexico State University Vice-President for Student Affairs and Enrollment Management.


Reader Comments

Post new Comment