Weather Alert

Tuesday, September 16, 2014 - 11:59am

New Astrological Sign Added, Other Signs Are Jumbled

Thursday, January 13, 2011 - 5:14pm

MINNEAPOLIS, MN— What was once 12 are now 13. In astrological signs, that is.

Earth has now changed its position in relation to the sun, its equatorial alignment no longer where it was 3,000 years ago when the study of astrology began. 12 zodiacs were assigned to 12 different time sections of the year. Now, there's another sign added, and that means astrological signs have changed for everyone.

An Aquarius is now a Capricorn, a Gemini a Taurus. And those born between November 29 and December 17, the new sign is Ophiuchus. The sign was cut out of the list about 2,000 years ago by ancient Babylonians because they wanted 12 signs, and not 13.

It takes Earth 26,000 years for a full rotation, and now that the Earth is toppling over on its axis, the North Star, Polaris, may no longer point us North. When the pyramids were constructed, the star that aligned with the “North Pole” was actually a star in the constellation Draco called Thuban. In 12,000 years, Earth's newest North Star could be Vega, the brightest star in the constellation.

The “real” dates:

Capricorn: Jan. 20-Feb. 16
Aquarius: Feb. 16-March 11
Pisces: March 11-April 18
Aries: April 18-May 13
Taurus: May 13-June 21
Gemini: June 21-July 20
Cancer: July 20-Aug. 10
Leo: Aug. 10-Sept. 6
Virgo: Sept. 16-Oct. 30
Libra: Oct. 30-Nov. 23
Scorpio: Nov. 23-29
Ophiuchus: Nov. 29-Dec. 17
Sagittarius: Dec. 17-Jan. 20


Reader Comments

Post new Comment