- Station Info
- Featured on 4
Monday, June 30, 2014 - 10:51pm
Las Cruces, NM (KDBC) — Drivers, you've been warned.
A new statewide ban on texting while driving takes effect in New Mexico on Tuesday.
Under the new law, drivers are prohibited from sending texts and emails and from surfing the internet, even if they're waiting at a stop light.
A first violation will carry a $25 fine. You'll have to fork over $50 for every violation after that.
New Mexico joins 43 other states in banning texting while driving.