Project HOME offers cheap cab rides to prevent drinking and driving

KDBC
Friday, December 20, 2013 - 6:58pm

Rather than placing lives in danger by driving home under the influence, there's another option in Dona Ana County.

Project Home offers $5 cab rides anywhere in the county for people trying to get home from a bar or even a house party.

"It's easier to go with us and pay the $5 instead of getting caught for DWI," said Juan Barela of Las Cruces Shuttle and Taxi.

The program is funded through grants and operates weekends and major holidays through a partnership with the taxi service.

County officials urge people to use the service whenever needed but even more so during the holidays.

"We believe this project home will help people get home safely if they'll just use their noggin instead of turning that key dial that phone," said Dona Ana County Spokesperson Jess Williams.

The taxi service asks for patience during peak hours of midnight to 2 a.m.

Phone: 575-524-TAXI (8294)

Fridays, Saturdays & Holidays
5:30 p.m.—3:00 a.m.
Anywhere in Doña Ana County

Columbus Day—Monday, 8 October
Halloween—Wednesday, 31 October
Thanksgiving—Wednesday, 21 November
                              Thursday, 22 November
Christmas—Tuesday, 25 December
New Year’s Eve—Monday, 31 January
New Year’s Day—Tuesday, 1 January
Superbowl—Sunday, 3 February
Mardi Gras—Tuesday, 12 February
Valentine’s Day—Thursday, 14 February
Easter—Sunday, 31 March
Mother’s Day—Sunday, 12 May
Memorial Weekend—Sunday, 26 May
                                        Monday, 27 May
 

News

Reader Comments

Post new Comment