Weather Alert

Tuesday, September 16, 2014 - 11:59am

Four Aggie baseball players earn All-WAC honors

Tuesday, May 21, 2013 - 10:56pm

The Western Athletic Conference released its 2013 all-WAC baseball teams and postseason awards as selected by the league’s head coaches and four New Mexico State baseball players were selected, with two on the first team and two on the second team.

Senior third baseman Bobby Lecount and junior catcher Tanner Rust were named to the first team, while junior right fielder Michael Medina and senior relief pitcher Evan Mott were voted to the second team.

Lecount played in 54 games this year and led the league with 67 RBI. He hit .356 against WAC opponents and posted more than half of his RBI (37) against league foes. Lecount also led the team and the lead with 38 walks while 21 of those walks came in WAC play. He led the team and finished second in the WAC with 14 home runs during the 2013 regular season.

Rust finished the regular season with a .387 batting average (best in WAC) and marked a .375 batting average during league play. He led the team scoring 54 runs this year and he enters the tournament with a team-high 24 multiple-hit games. Rust’s 79 hits this year is third in the league as his .481 on-base percentage is tops in the WAC. Rust started in 54 games this year with 47 of those starts at catcher.

Medina earned all-conference honors after hitting .369 in league play. He started all 54 games this year in right field while scoring 53 runs on the year with 30 runs scored in WAC play. Those 30 runs scored were tops in the league as he was second in the conference with 19 walks drawn during WAC play.

Mott, who recently broke the school record for appearances in a season, was named second team all-WAC after posted a 2.93 ERA in 46.0 innings pitched. Mott finished 18 games this year and tallied three saves to go along with his 62 strikeouts. He tallied 36 K’s in league play and walked only eight batters during WAC games.

CSU Bakersfield junior infielder Tyler Shryock was named the Player of the Year and Bakersfield senior Jeff McKenzie earned Pitcher of the Year honors. The Freshman of the Year award went to Sacramento State designated hitter Chris Lewis. CSU Bakersfield's Bill Kernen was named WAC Coach of the Year.

Player of the Year: Tyler Shryock, Jr., CSU Bakersfield
Pitcher of the Year: Jeff McKenzie, Sr., CSU Bakersield
Freshman of the Year: Chris Lewis, Fr., DH, Sacramento State
Coach of the Year: Bill Kernen, CSU Bakersfield

Tyler Shryock, Jr., INF, CSU Bakersfield
Robert Lecount, Sr., INF, New Mexico State
Oscar Sanay, Jr., INF, CSU Bakersfield
Duncan McAlpine, Sr., INF, Dallas Baptist
RJ Perucki, Jr., INF, UTSA
Nate Roberts, Sr., INF, Seattle U
Tanner Rust, Jr., INF, New Mexico State
Cody Lovejoy, So., OF, Texas State
Cael Brockmeyer, Jr., C, CSU Bakersfield
Michael Miller, Jr., C, Dallas Baptist
Chris Lewis, Fr., DH, Sacramento State
Matt Shortall, Jr., DH, UT Arlington
Scott Brattvet, Sr., P, CSU Bakersfield
Brennan Leitao, So., P, Sacramento State
Phil Maton, So., P, Louisiana Tech
Jeff McKenzie, Sr., P, CSU Bakersfield
Sutter McLoughlin, Fr., P, Sacramento State
Michael Smith, Sr., P, Dallas Baptist

Mylz Jones, Fr., INF, CSU Bakersfield
Andrew Ayers, Sr., INF, Sacramento State
Garrett Mattlage, So., INF, Texas State
Matt Carroll, Jr., INF, San Jose State
Austin Listi, Fr., INF, Dallas Baptist
Ronnie Mitchell, Sr., OF, Dallas Baptist
Michael Medina, Jr., OF, New Mexico State
Kevin Sah, Sr., OF, Texas State
Andre Mercurio, So., OF, San Jose State
Daniel Rockett, Sr., OF, UTSA
Riley Good, Jr., OF, UTSA
Greg McCall, Jr., C, UT Arlington
Brock Hartson, Fr., P, UTSA
Kyle Hassna, Sr., P, San Jose State
Lucas Humpal, Fr., P, Texas State
Hunter Lemke, Jr., P, Texas State
Evan Mott, Sr., P, New Mexico State
Brad Vachon, Jr., P, UT Arlington


Reader Comments

Post new Comment